Smoke Signals

2gslqvl

I thought this film was a very clever way of communicating many wonderful insights into the Native American Culture and their struggles. It used numerous cheesy jokes to lighten the mood about some seriously harsh issues throughout their history. Jokes about needing to get their vaccinations, being careful about signing any papers, wishing they were more organized when Columbus arrived, and how cowboys always won. They even were laughing about the chance of going to jail just because you were simply an “Indian in the 20th century”. As a student who has spent a few semesters studying the history of Native American Culture after european colonization, all of this tugs at my heart a bit. Even though it was presented in such a light hearted way, their unfair history was constantly on my mind. The alcoholism presented in the film made me frustrated as I reflected on how this was also an effect of the white men’s colonization. Often times white men would give large amounts of alcohol to the Native’s before they would ask them to sign treaties and “sell” the land. Thus, a large reason for alcoholism running in the Native culture is because of this, and it makes me really sad to think about. I could go on all day about the injustices and how it has negatively impacted the tribal communities, but that is not what the film was about necessarily.

w964

What I thought was really beautiful portrayed in the film, was the storytelling. The ability to have oral historical records, and have such fantastic elaborative storytelling skills is a fascinating thing to see. I respect this part of their culture so much, and loved seeing this skill in the various characters throughout the film. I enjoyed Thomas’ character because he displayed a hopeful, positive, curious, friendly and imaginative aura that I think is common for Native Americans. Interestingly, I thought the movie did a wonderful job contrasting the two characters (Thomas and Victor) perspectives to create a dynamic plot and development. I also thought it was great how the film went back and forth between the past and present so seamlessly to tell the entire background of the story as we went along. This along with the dynamic of the characters allowed me to connect with Victor and get inside his head and understand the emotions tied to the struggles.

Leave a comment