ART:21 Series

I thoroughly enjoyed learning about all the artists explored in class last week while watching the ART:21 series. I loved seeing so many diverse mediums, and so many unique journey’s of artistic exploration and expression. But overall, the incredible sense of creativity displayed really pushed the boundaries on how art can be shared effectively an interactively.

I have sat here for 20 minutes trying to chose which artist to share my thoughts about, and I cannot distinguish what inspires me most. So, here are some of my favorite aspects: Enjoy!

GRAVITY & GRACE Monumental works by El Anatsui.

I loved how El Anatsui taught me that art does not have to be permanent. He created such beautiful displays of bottle caps which had incredible textures and a wonderful sense of liveliness. But the best part was that he would go ahead and move them around every once in a while to create new movements and evoke new feelings. Art should not be stagnant. We should not be confined to create a piece that closed off from any inspirations of adaptations. Art should be ever-changing, inspired to share new things each day. This is what I loved about El Anatsui.

emvideo-bliptv-916415_0

Mark Bradford embraced his audience in so many original ways. The music and mirror filled corridors where he implemented old city signs to tell everyday stories seems breathtaking to experience. The way he was able to get these street signs to tell stories was so creative and allowed connections to be made. Overall, he seemed to have such a profound happiness that effected his work and I truly appreciate the positivity he spreads to everyone he meets. My favorite aspect of his art was his use of his sense of humor to help him perform a commentary of persistence using a hoop-skirt while playing basketball. This is the kind of free-spirited creativity that I am inspired by.

img_2

Lastly, I really need to point out something that Barry McGee said. I thought it was so true and should not be overlooked.

“Graffiti is not damage. A commercial jingle being stuck in my head… that’s damage.”

So many people blindly think that graffiti is a horrible act of destruction on property. But, when you think about it… so is most media and advertising we consume each day (like commercial jingles). Our brains are constantly being fed garbage from every direction. This is beyond our will, beyond our control. Yet, we do not seem as bothered by the damage it is doing to our psyche. The pressures to fit in; dress a certain way, act a certain way, eat a certain way, buy certain things… are all damaging the purity and potential of who we are as individuals. We should not let the media damage our minds and define who we are.

And in turn, like Barry suggests, we should not think of graffiti as damage. It is rather an act of individualism expressed to the public that should be appreciated.

Class insight 10/29/14

Leave a comment