Theresa and Leanore- from Baja, California

Pai-Pai artisan

I absolutely loved learning from such genuine, sweet, knowledgeable ladies of such an interesting culture. Listening to the native language of Kiliwa was a breathtaking experience. Even though I had not idea what was being said, I was engaged the entire time. Only 5 speakers of this language left in the world, and I feel privileged to have met and listened to one of them.

What I love most about indigenous cultures is the undeniable appreciation for the land they display at all times. I become inspired each and every time I learn about how they treat the land around us. It is so contrastingly different than how our european ways led us to treat our land. I wish we (as a whole) could respect the indigenous enough to repeat and learn from the ways in which they use the land respectfully.

Their relationship is always symbiotic. When they use part of a plant, they always trim it in a way that will foster its growth even more than before. When they take from any part of nature, they spend the extra time to bless it, explain the reasons for use, offer an apology and thank it wholeheartedly. This sort of respect is beautiful to me, and it is sad to say how forge in it seems. Our culture should treat our precious land like it deserves, and the culture these ladies live in displays a perfect example of how this can be done.

Leave a comment