Chasing Ice

Wow. This documentary was effective. Please watch it, and share it with everyone.

chasing-ice-21

James Balog is an inspiring fellow, and a exceptionally talented photographer. I have always been inspired by photography, but lately I have become so busy with other things that I have forgotten how incredible and powerful of an art form it is. I used to just sit and look at photos in every moment of my spare time, soaking up the beauty of the landscape, the portrait, whatever it may be. I loved the lighting, the composition, the color and the lines. But I also loved interpreting the image in multiple different ways. It was the most beautiful and amazing thing about photography. I was captivated by idea that the image that I was looking at could mean so many different things and tell whatever story I wanted it to. Sadly, I had about forgotten this hobby of mine, until I watched Chasing Ice. James Balog reminded me how amazing it can be to observe photos, but he introduced it to me in a completely new way.

ChasingIce_filmstill2_by_James_Balog-Extreme_Ice_Survey2

With the story he unraveled, and the images he created… I was lead to view his images through the specific lens he suggested. I saw the images in reaction to the journey he was pursuing and interpreted them from the passionate cause he shared with us. I found that that is just as powerful of a way to look at a group of images. Knowing the backstory. Knowing the sacrifice. Knowing the passion. Knowing their weight and their purpose. I was backed into a corner of inspiration and belief because of this movie. There are not an infinite number of ways I could interpret these photos. There are not a million different stories to tell. There is one story to be told and these photos demanded that everyone understand it.

Lindblad Cove, Antarctic Peninsula, Antarctica, 11 January 2011

Through these photos, I have become so in love with the glaciers. Through these photos and their backstory, I have become so inspired. It deserves to be seen, it deserves to be heard. We, as humans, have a track record of arguing about things. But it has got to stop. We do not have any time to waste on arguing.

“You cannot divorce civilization from Nature”- James Balog

We have to stop pretending like we can ignore nature and carry on with civilization. Pay attention to the air, pay attention to trees, but most of all, pay attention to the ice. The story is in the ice.

Screen-Shot-2013-06-20-at-5.31.59-PM

chasing-ice-2-2_025363990768468FB387BA7406B83923

Leave a comment